Freefalling.

There’s been a lot going on on my end.

  1. My grandmother has been diagnosed as having pancreatic cancer, and she’s having a whipple surgery on Monday night.
  2. I have about 6 to 10 weeks before I’m a mother of two.
  3. Money is an ever-present issue that’s strangely become moot.

And that’s just the tip of the iceberg. I could go on and on about any of these topics, but what I want to talk about is Amy Poehler’s Awesome Harvard Commencement Speech. It’s been making the rounds on every blog and FB page worth a damn, and there’s a line in it that’s been on my mind ever since watching the video. Don’t start a scene where two people are talking about jumping out of a plane. Start the scene having already jumped.

Poehler’s talking about the life lessons she’s learned from comedic improvisation when she mentions this insight, and I can’t help but apply it to this here blog. I feel like everything I talk about on here is “behind the scenes” or “preparation”; very seldomly do I feel like I’m really digging at the meat of matters.

I hate that this blog has turned into a “tell” and not a “show”, but I don’t really know how to take it there anymore. The truth is, there are a lot of things that I have to do, but there are also days when I’m no longer feeling the intense drive to do any of these things. Complacency and comfort have slipped into my daily routine, and I’ve forgotten how to stay hungry. I’ve forgotten how to crave more. I’ve forgotten that there are goals I’ve set for myself.

So instead of preparing and planning and goal-setting, I’ve decided to jump out of the plane and freefall. That’s the only thing left to do.

This is me, world, shutting up, signing off, and doing the damn thang.

Leave a Reply

