I’m still standing.

Yeah, yeah, yeah.

And there are no tears in my eyes, either – even though Rob left for NYC this morning, I won’t see him for at least a year and a half, and I’ve been left to face the tumult of single-parenting in a foreign country, while working, going to school, and being pregnant.

How is this possible?

To be honest? I’m not sure. Maybe the full weight of reality hasn’t yet hit me. Or maybe I just managed to really psych myself out. Or maybe I really do need this time to do a lot of self-reflection and writing. Whatever the reason, the tears have been flowing considerably less than I thought they would be, and I barely managed to soak through one handkerchief (although I can’t help but get teary whenever Riley does something adorable that Rob would positively go ga-ga over).

I’m studying and editing and writing this weekend, and finally going to see the doc about mine and Riley’s crazy-bad cough. I only have five days of classes left, then there’s three days of exams and I get a two week vacation! Can you say “Hell to the yes”?! Admittedly, I’d love to be cuddling and such with my man, but alas, that cannot be so and I’m wise enough to accept the things I cannot change.

So.

To sum up: Rob’s not here and that SUCKS. But the show must go on and muthafucka, it will go on – brilliantly and beautifully. That’s just how I roll.

Leave a Reply

