Gypped.

In New York, Rob’s mom has a boarder in her house. The boarder pays $200 a month for the privilege of having a room at the house, and because she could never afford to live in New York City if she had to pay the usual rates (renting out ONE ROOM can cost as much as $1000 per month), she also cleans up the house, does laundry, and takes care of Rob’s mom’s dog. Says my soon-to-be-MIL about her boarder, “She can get annoying sometimes because she’s so OCD about cleaning everything, and she walks the dog every three hours. She even wakes him up when it’s raining outside to walk him… Sometimes, you just want a relaxed atmosphere in your house, ya know?”

We pay our maid, Joy, a monthly salary for cleaning the house, doing laundry, and taking care of my brothers’ dogs. Just like the New York boarder, Joy could never afford the cost of living out of the province if she didn’t live with us. And yet. Does she approach OCD levels with her fastidious cleanliness? Nope, not even close. In fact, even now, more than a year after she started working for us, I still have to repeat the same daily instructions that I told her on Day #1, AND a lot of the time, I end up redoing the work she just finished.

Remind me again why we keep her around?

Oh, right. Because she needs the money and she’s nice to my son.

*sigh*

I’ve definitely gone soft.

2 responses to “Gypped.

  1. Oh, right. Because she needs the money and she’s nice to my son.

    you haven’t gone soft. these are fabulous reasons girlie 😉

  2. Thanks, lady. Sorry it’s taken me so long to reply. Been having a nightmare with my laptop 😦

Leave a Reply

