Getting fiscally responsible.

There’s this thing about mine and Rob’s relationship that’s more than yin and yang. We balance each other out, sure. But sometimes, we’re so completely opposite of each other that we just spoil what the other one is doing. Case in point: Work. I’m a workhorse. I like getting down to business and getting shit done and getting it all done right. Rob? Not so much. He’d rather lounge around and have fun.

Now, don’t get me wrong: When it’s time to let my hair down, I can party it up with the best of them or lazy about the house doing nothing. And Rob? When push comes to shove, he’s able to pull it all together and do what he’s got to do. For the most part, though, we distract each other from our planned routines. I know that Rob doesn’t really want to be be an upright, responsible adult, so I’ll bend some of the rules that I’d otherwise keep set in stone; Rob knows that I see idleness as a waste of time, so he’ll scramble to get shit done, even when he’d rather be relaxing. I tend to let him influence the lion’s share of how this tug-of-war goes, but these days I’m thinking it’s okay to be a bit more of a hard-ass.

Basically, the situation is this: We have limited funds, but those limited funds are set to temporarily grow in the next two weeks.  Rob has only six weeks left in the Philippines and he wants us to live it up while he’s still here. And while the Maria of 5 years ago would’ve happily shrugged off tomorrow’s responsibilities in lieu of today’s memory-making, the Maria of present would rather play it safe. Call me crazy, but given the situation – having one kid and getting ready for another – I’d rather not spend the bulk of our money on flashy presents to each other and day trips.

I really don’t want to be a stick in the mud, but I’d rather that than not being able to pay for my medical fees, or, ya know, food.

I can’t help but wish that Rob saw things my way.

*sigh*

We’ll talk about this later. Right now, we’re both too cranky from recovering from the fiasco of yesterday.

Leave a Reply

