The secret.

I remember, a few years ago, as I was planning a Drag Ball (the proceeds of which helped out LGBT survivors of Hurricane Katrina), a couple of my friends were telling me about The Secret. They kept on saying how it changed their lives, and all I could muster was a fake smile and the  raise of my eyebrows.

Now, don’t get me wrong: I’m all about the power of positivity and whatnot, but I don’t really buy into self-help mumbo-jumbo. Self-help peddlers are basically saying that they’ve figured out how to do something that you’re doing in a far better way than you’re doing it, and ya know what? They can suck it. As far as I’m concerned, we’re all experts at living – just not necessarily the way everyone else should be living.

But. The latest turn of events in my life? They’re telling me that all this “Throw your positivity into the air, and it’ll come back to you three-fold” crap might actually be working. See, as I’ve been going through the awesomeness of day-to-day living, I’ve been fantasizing about getting pregnant and adopting a baby – and now? I’m pretty sure I’m pregnant and about to adopt a baby. Yeah. Just like that. In a matter of months, I might become a mother of three.

Leave a Reply

