Because I have babies on the brain.

It’s been a long-standing dream of mine to one day adopt a baby. Even though it may just be a pipe dream, I’m still saving up some cash to make it happen and doing my homework on how it’s done.

Lately, there have been a string of stories on the Filipino news about abandoned babies, and I keep thinking, Just leave one on my doorstep. S/He’ll have everything s/he could ever want.

It sounds, crazy, I know, but that’s how it’s done over here. A woman doesn’t want her baby, so the moment she brings it into the world, it’s given to someone else who gives it to someone else who gives it to someone else, et al., and within a day or two it finds a home with someone who wants to raise it. It’s done this way so that it’s difficult to trace the identity of the mother/parents, and to presumably give the kid a lease on a new life. Midwives and doctors are paid to cook up birth certificates and necessary documents, and voila! No one has to know that the kid isn’t biological.

It would be awesome if I could pull off something like that, but legality is an issue for me. So I’ve been doing some research, trying to figure out how I’d do this, and I’ve come across three snags:

  1. You have to be at least 27 years old to adopt a baby from the Philippines,
  2. $$$,   and
  3. What if, after meeting the prerequisite of living with the child for two years (presumably a relative, since that’s what I’m kind of aiming for), for some reason, I’m not able to legally adopt him? What am I supposed to do? Live in the Philippines forever, or leave my child in the Philippines while I live on the other side of the globe? Those are, like, Sophie’s Choice-type options. So. Not. Cool.

Still. My heart is open and my bank balance isn’t something to laugh at. No reason not to keep my doorstep clean and baby-friendly.

Leave a Reply

