Relapse.

My parents’ separation is really hitting me hard. It’s bringing to light every issue I’ve ever had in my entire life. Did you get that? Every. Single. Word. I’ve ever told a psychiatrist has been rehashed because of this thing that’s happening on the other side of the world that really doesn’t have much to do with me.

For a second, I dropped the ball. I said “Fuck you” to all of my non-Riley-and-Rob responsibilities, didn’t attend class, didn’t submit anything for work, and just stewed in my own self-pity. Because, ya know, that’s what I would have done two years ago when shit hit the fan. And honestly? Even though I know I’m not the same person I was two years ago, it’s hard not to do the same things I would have done as that woman.

Now I’m scrambling to make up everything I’ve missed, and I’m enjoying the heck out of what I’ve got, and I’m making plans like a madwoman.

In six months, I’m going to start the clinical portion of my nursing education. Pretty soon, I’ll be sticking needles in people and prodding around strangers’ soft parts. This is all just WHOOOOOAAAAA!!!!

If the girls at the dungeon could see me now. All grown up and handling my responsibilities with grace and humility? They’d never believe it.

Leave a Reply

