Aunt Flo came to town, and she got me thinking.

Thinking, that is, about how much I want another baby. Because I do. Big time. Soon. And the only two things keeping me from it? Fear and time. Fear because what if we can’t afford another baby? And what if Riley (who is a supreme attention hog) loathes having to share us with a smaller version of himself? And what if people judge me for this decision and I’ll end up hating them for it? And time because, well, these days Rob and I have to schedule making the baby. I can’t imagine finding the time and energy to breastfeed and recover from childbirth. (Although, honestly, I can totally see myself immersed in caring for more than one kid.)

The smart thing, I know, would be to plan the baby’s birth for March/April 2013. That’s the next time I’ll have a vacation from school that lasts more than 3 days. Riley will be 3 1/2 years old, which is a good age to have a sibling, and I’ll be 3/4 done with my nursing degree. More money will be saved up; Rob, Riley and I will have done a good amount of traveling as a family; and in the meantime, I’ll start my dream garden and get a puppy to stave off my baby lust.

That’s the pragmatic choice, and more likely than not, that’s what we’ll end up doing. I’ll get pregnant around June of 2012, hope for twins, and see what happens.

In the meantime, though, I’m still kind of hoping someone leaves a baby at our doorstep.

Leave a Reply

