What’s your take on needing drama to be a good artist?

I’ve been working on a lot of projects lately, and as much as I love the buzz of working at the grindstone, I’ve gotta admit: being on cloud nine doesn’t make for easy artistry.

See, it seems like the better my life becomes, the less I’m bothered; and the less I’m bothered, the more distant I feel from the frantic energy that used to shade all of my writing. The desperation, the urgency, the crazy desire – it’s so far away now, and I wonder how/if my writing will suffer from it.

I guess this is a throwback to all those long, winding conversations about whether drama is necessary in an artist’s life. I’m always flip-flopping on my opinion. Today, I feel like it’s a necessary component to any artist’s existence; we need to have personally known it in order to render it authentic in our art. But do we need to experience it all the time? I don’t think so.

What’s your take?

6 responses to “What’s your take on needing drama to be a good artist?

  1. As an artist myself, I can relate to this. “Drama”, as I see it, is an intense emotional response, be it good, bad or otherwise. Anger, grief, joy – – they are all forms of drama. It arouses passion, and passion is the match that lights the creative flame. The ups and downs of emotional swings is what colors your perception and inspires your creative work. Being on Cloud 9 is a wonderful feeling but it’s the intensity of drama that brings out the creative beast. My best performances, whether on stage or in the studio, have been done under the influence of passion.

    Trust me. I know a thing or two about being creative. šŸ˜€

    – Gitana, the Creative Diva

  2. @ Gitana – “[Drama] arouses passion, and passion is the match that lights the creative flame.”

    I couldn’t agree more! But this begs the questions: is it possible to be artistically awesome without drama? Does one have to be in the midst of drama to pull off great art?

  3. Sure. it just depends on how you define art.

  4. brought to memory one of my old ass posts, talking about why i stopped writing:
    http://textibitionist.blogspot.com/2009/08/why-i-stopped-writing.html

    I dont know. I think its possible to still write about things when your life is “good,” we have had our moments where we were so delirious with happiness that we couldnt contain it and it poured out in the orgasm of thought.

    Where does drama tie in to that joy? Passion and conflict aren’t ALWAYS synonymous, but perhaps that delirious happiness IS an outcome of being denied that happiness on such a steady basis.

    Ask me again later. good question.

    xo

  5. @ Jess – I swear I’m thinking more than I did in New York. And I’m forced to think in different ways, too. In different languages, regarding different subjects, with more investment in everything I do, etc. Maybe the reason I can’t write has less to do with being drama-free and more to do with my brain being stretched out in a million directions? *shrugs* Either way, my fiction is still craptacular. šŸ˜¦

  6. šŸ˜¦ are you sure?

Leave a Reply

