After the Baby Shower’s the Afterparty

We’d been stressing over the baby shower for months. There were at least 45 people expected (more like 55 people showed up), and amongst them, there were vegans, vegetarians, pescatarians, Hindus, Muslims, Jews – in short, if we wanted everyone to eat, we needed to have a little bit of everything. So my mom and Rob’s mom cooked for two days straight, and a couple of Rob’s relatives shelled out for even more food. Believe me when I say we had a veritable smorgasbord of deliciousness laid out on two floors of the house, plus the backyard. (BTW, if anyone reading this has pics of the food, please share!) Filipino food, Mediterranean food, Italian food, Spanish food, good ole American BBQ, jerk chicken – the list goes on and on. Even with as many guests as we had, there were STILL leftovers.

I learned a lot from the experience of the baby shower.

1) My life is filled with love. I mean, BRIMMING. OVERFLOWING. OVERWHELMED by love. Seriously. Between my cousins, aunts, and uncles who drove almost 2 hours just to congratulate me in person, and my friends who reminded me of my wild days and still managed to acknowledge the new “Mommy Maria”, I was smiling. The. Whole. Time.

2) No matter how much like my pre-baby self I feel like I look like, it’s just not the case. I mean, dude. I’ve gained almost 40 lbs. I shouldn’t look the way I did before carrying all that around, but for some reason, in my head, I look almost the same. After I saw the pics from the baby shower and noticed how glowy (read: sweaty) and inflated I looked, I was a bit appalled. This was me?! *sigh* My vanity hurt a little bit.

3) My folks get along well with Rob’s mom. It was the first time they’d all met, and I was pleasantly surprised by how great it went. My mom and Rob’s mom were chatting and laughing the whole day, and by the end of it, my mom had a genuine affinity for Rob’s mom. They made plans to hang out soon. And by god, I know it was a baby shower and not a wedding, but I feel like I have in-laws now.

So yeah. The baby shower. Lots of people. Lots of food. Lots of good times. It was co-ed – something that I insisted on because I’m not about to exclude friends just because they happen to have a penis. And talk about diverse! At one point, while Rob and I were opening presents, I looked out into the crowd and saw a Jew, a Muslim, a Hindu, a Christian, and a Pagan all standing in a line, expectantly snapping shots at all of the gifts and mine and Rob’s faces, and I thought, Riley, you’re a lucky kid. You’re gonna know all kinds of beautiful people.

group pic 2 at baby showergroup pic at baby showerrob licking me

3 responses to “After the Baby Shower’s the Afterparty

  1. this link should have been in there

  2. LOL! Yeeesss, that’s Rob in Pokemon form!

Leave a Reply

