I’m A Liberal

I figure, if you really want to know something, get to know it. Don’t depend on any socially-accepted definition; doing so only means that you’ll lose out on a person or thing’s true essence – what makes it tick, what makes it beautiful. Unfortunately, by virtue of convenience, I’m forced to categorize every part of my personality. And here’s something you’ve probably caught on about; something that is seemingly obvious, given my economic, racial, and social background: I’m a liberal.

I say so because I’m realizing more and more the implications of my stance. Calling myself a liberal is more than political; it’s personal. It means that I am not socially conservative: I don’t blindly stick to the traditions of yesteryear just because they’re established. I constantly question everything, and even when I’m satisfied with the conclusions I’ve reached, I’m open to the possibility that my thinking might be wrong. It means that I’m humble enough to acknowledge my shortcomings: I don’t know what’s best for you, so I entrust to you the right to do whatever you want, so long as you don’t infringe on another person’s rights. It means that I care about the rights of the underserved and underprivileged; I do so not just because I lump myself in with these groups, but because I truly believe it’s the right thing to do. Everyone benefits when everyone benefits.

4 responses to “I’m A Liberal

  1. Pingback: 10 Reasons For Calling Me a Bad Parent « Mistress Mom

  2. I am a conservative, and can say that I am most of what you have written here. This whole part applies to me:

    I don’t blindly stick to the traditions of yesteryear just because they’re established. I constantly question everything, and even when I’m satisfied with the conclusions I’ve reached, I’m open to the possibility that my thinking might be wrong. It means that I’m humble enough to acknowledge my shortcomings: I don’t know what’s best for you, so I entrust to you the right to do whatever you want, so long as you don’t infringe on another person’s rights. It means that I care about the rights of the underserved and underprivileged

    I just wanted to point that out, because a lot of people think that conservatives are none of that, and that is simply not true. I think it’s just a matter of how we get there that we sometimes disagree about.

    I will leave it at that, because I adore your writing and hate political arguments. I love checking in to find that you’ve written something new!

  3. Thanks, Becky! Don’t worry about airing out your view! I love to hear opposing perspectives. And I totally agree with you about “it’s just a matter of how we get there that we sometimes disagree about.”

    I know there’s a lot of overlap between viewpoints – no matter how polar they might seem – and it’s awesome to me that many of us can still get along, respect each other, and even like and *gasp* LOVE each other.

    P.S. You live in NY, right? Have you been going to the Danger parties? I. MISS. THEM.

  4. No, I live in Wisconsin. The only “danger” here involves over-consumption of beer. Well, that’s the big one anyway.

Leave a Reply

