You’re Right: You DO Have the Right to Be Stupid

stu⋅pid

–adjective
1. lacking ordinary quickness and keenness of mind; dull.
2. characterized by or proceeding from mental dullness; foolish; senseless: a stupid question.
3. tediously dull, esp. due to lack of meaning or sense; inane; pointless: a stupid party.
4. annoying or irritating; troublesome: Turn off that stupid radio.
5. in a state of stupor; stupefied: stupid from fatigue.
6. Slang. excellent; terrific.

–noun

7. Informal. a stupid person.

Some people judge attractiveness. Others are predisposed to judging style. My thing? I judge stupidity. There have been many a time when I’ve read or heard something and said aloud, “How the fuck can you be so stupid?” It’s an intuitive and natural reflex. I’m not a jerk about it; I don’t go around criticizing people for silly mistakes, i.e., misplacing your keys or using baking powder instead of baking soda. But I do judge. It’s part of what makes me human. I’m pretty sure you do it, too.

Here’s the thing though: I hate stupidity. I really really do. Not the so-stupid-they’re-funny people, but the ones who think they’ve got something valid going on upstairs. When I see someone ranting about something and expecting people to take them seriously, I just wanna slap em upside the head and go, “Look, buddy. Sure you’ve got an opinion. But unless you make a clear and articulate argument for it, then it ain’t valid. Not in my book.”

So, yeah. I’ll disagree with you, and I’ll be intellectual and respectful about it. But don’t take me for a fool: I know that people only get defensive when their pride is hurt. I’m used to it. Weak people can’t stand me.

6 responses to “You’re Right: You DO Have the Right to Be Stupid

  1. I love you already! I just read your comments of the Black Power Post on Speak on it…and I agreed with you wholeheartedly! I didn’t understand her responses to your comments…But great job!!!

  2. @ Bobby – Thanks! 🙂

  3. I am sooo with you on this one. People who think they are so intelligent when they are just full of crap. I know a lot of them.

  4. I married and divorced one of these people. His stupidity still astonishes me to this day. (as does my own stupidity for marrying the dumbass in the first place)

  5. Stupidity makes me want to barf.

  6. Yes stupid people are rather annoying, in fact the curdle my blood.

Leave a Reply

